What we do at nursery

Characteristics of Effective Learning


While children are exploring their environment, and learning through play, children need support from a skilful practitioner, who has the knowledge of when to intervene and give guidance. This support will help children make significant progress in their learning.  We look closely at their emotional and intellectual abilities and find out what they can do. When planning activities, or experiences we always remember the different ways in which children learn and reflect these in practice.


Playing and exploring


Finding out and exploring

Playing with what they know

Being willing to ‘have a go.’


Active learning


Being involved and concentrating

Keeping trying

Enjoying achieving what they set out to do


Creating and thinking critically


Having their own ideas

Making links

Choosing ways to do things




The four principles of the EYFS are:


Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured

Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships

Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers; and

Children embrace learning and development in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.



What are British values?


• Democracy

• The rule of law

• Individual liberty

• Mutual respect and tolerance of different faiths and belief


Promoting British Values at St Agnes Day Nursery


Democracy is about everyone being treated equally and having equal rights.We include many instances of teaching democracy in our early years setting through encouraging sharing and group decision making.

Mutual respect and tolerance for others is about learning to understand and appreciate each other’s differences, without allowing those differences to mean a change in treatment of any sort. It’s about being a part of a community where not everyone is the same and forming relationships within that without discrimination.

The rule of law is about ensuring the children in our setting understand that rules are important and learn right from wrong. We teach them that there are boundaries and consequences, and that feelings and behaviour should be managed to fit within these boundaries.

Individual liberty is about children understanding and valuing their own self and having confidence in making choices. Self-esteem, self-confidence and self-awareness are important here, and are already part of the EYFS teaching.


7 Areas of Learning


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) areas of learning and development have been produced by the government and early years’ professionals for use by all early years’ providers.

We use the Seven Areas of Learning and development when we are observing, assessing and planning for your child’s individual needs.  The areas of learning and development make sure that we are constantly challenging your child and helping them develop and succeed.

There are seven areas of learning and they are split in to two parts

3 PRIME areas – which are for all children but will always be the focus of our planning for children under 3 years.

4 SPECIFIC areas – which are mostly used for children over 3 years.


St Agnes Day Nursery Est. 1981



What We Do

News & Events

Contact Us

Wraparound care & holiday club

T: 0191 413 4822

E: contact@


Parent's Page

A member of the National Day Nursery Association

Ofsted Registration No. EY413534

Registered Charity No. 1124178